Bicentennial

Bicentennial Banner

Celebrating our 200th birthday!

We've been a part of the community for two centuries, and our members are active in numerous community projects and charitable activities. Our year-long festivities commemorate the founding of the First Universalist Church of Wakefield in 1813, when seven members from another church launched our congregation.

Click here for more information about our church's rich history.

Thank you for participating in our Bicentennial Celebration festivities!

Sunday, June 3, 2012—Bicentennial Celebration Concert – “Musical America”: 7 PM

www.sroconcerts.org

Wednesday, June 6, 2012—Ceremonial Kick-Off: 7 PM; 5:30 PM Open House

Saturday, June 9, 2012—Bicentennial Booth at Festival by the Lake: 10 AM – 4 PM

Wednesday, July 4, 2012—Watch for our float in Wakefield’s Fourth of July Parade!

Saturday, September 22, 2012—Standing Room Only Bicentennial Season Begins: "Celebrating America - Sounds That Inspired a Nation"    Opening Concert: Stars and Stripes: 7:30 PM                                  

Sunday, October 21, 2012—Singing Meditation with Ruthie Rosauer, author of Singing Meditation: 7:30 PM

Saturday, December 1, 2012—New England Carol Sing on the lawn: 3 PM

Friday, December 21, 2012—Winter Solstice Event: 7 PM

Sunday, December 23, 2012—SRO Concert:  A Civil War Christmas:   7:30 PM

Saturday, January 26, 2013—The Silent Pause: A Meditation Retreat

Thursday, February 14, 2013—SRO Valentine Concert: Rags to Riches: Love of Music & Motherland: 7:30 PM

Saturday, April 27, 2013—SRO Season Finale: Big Band Sound of Esquivel: 7:30 PM

Sunday, April 28, 2013—Afternoon worship service and celebratory event with combined choir: 3 PM

Saturday, May 11, 2013—Historic Wakefield scavenger hunt: 4:00 PM-POSTPONED

Friday, May 17, 2013—Rise Up Singing with Rise Up Singing songbook editors Peter Blood and Annie Patterson: 7:30 PM